Capsule Wardrobe Perks

While in the process of updating my capsule wardrobe I was thinking whether I am actually creating savings or acquiring unnecessary expenditure in the long run.

I was looking at my sister’s closet. She has several clothing items she had acquired over the years. If I look at her closet, I can pinpoint some items she bought years ago. She rarely discard clothes because everything is in tiptop condition. Her clothes looks brand new because when she use let say her red polo today she will use that again after a month. The frequency of usage per item is not that high which leads to a delay in the wear and tear. This made me wonder how much does she spend yearly on clothes. Is the amount lower or higherย than mine?

In my case, if I look at my closet, all items were purchased within the year. I only have few items which means the clothes are used often in rotation. Most of the clothes don’t last over a year. I find myself purchasing new items every 6 months at least. I have a feeling that this frequent turn over is quite expensive however I am not certain because I really haven’t tracked my clothing expenses. I also don’t buy very high quality items because it is too expensive for me. I will have to monitor my expenditure on clothing items for another year in order to make a definite conclusion.

Even though I am uncertain if I am saving or not with the capsule wardrobe, there are certain advantages that I love with this setup.

1. The fewer the clothing items, the easier to clean the closet.
2. The fewer the clothing items, the fewer items to replace.
3. The fewer the clothing items, the more you are encouraged to laundry frequently.
4. The fewer the clothing items, the easier to mix and match.
5. The fewer the clothing items, the easier to track down missing or misplaced clothes.
6. The fewer the clothing items, the more you are encouraged to take care of it.
7. The fewer the clothing items, the frequent the turnover, you have the option to buy the current fashion fad or incorporate some of it to the basics. You wont feel outdated.

Leave a Reply

